Yann Novak & Robert Crouch

Yann Novak and Robert Crouch are sound and visual artists living and working in Los Angeles. Their practice incorporates field recordings, photography, and video as tools to investigate the relationship between site and subject. Through the digital manipulation of these sound and image files, Novak transforms these documents of personal experiences into abstracted impressions of the original subject. Crouch uses a combination of digital processing and modular synthesis to further abstract their subject matter.

Their current work explores the relationship between contemporary art making practices and the historical tradition of romantic landscape painting. Their installations and performances have been presented at the AxS Festival, Pasadena; California Museum of Photography, Riverside; Garboushian Gallery, Beverly Hills; Highways Performance Space, Santa Monica; LACMA, Los Angeles; Pøst, Los Angeles, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York and others.

Curriculum Vitæ


SCALE, Render, California Museum of Photography, Riverside CA, Group
Untitled Landscape, Pøst, Los Angeles, CA, Solo


SPECTRUM, Monkey Town, Los Angeles, CA
mas gestos y mas caras (sound for Rafa Esparza), Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, CA
Fata Morgana, The Quick and The Dead, Human Resources, Los Angeles, CA
Fata Morgana, Ear Meal on LA Art Stream, Los Angeles, CA
Fata Morgana, AxS Festival, Wind Tunnel Gallery, Pasadena CA
TOGETHER (with D. Dinco + D. Wood), Garboushian Gallery, Beverly Hills, CA
somatic SENSOR (with D. Dinco + D. Wood), Highways Performance Space, Santa Monica, CA
Music for Restaurants (with Sublamp), LACMA, Los Angeles, CA


‘2 Oscillators’ (with Robert Crouch) on A Simple Procedure, Estuary Ltd. (US), 2 x CD
Fata Morgana, Murmur Records (JP), CD
“Untitled Landscape” on The Wire Tapper 24, The Wire (UK), CD
“Santa Fe” on Untitled 10 (The Black Album), Untitled & After (US), Digital
Untitled (December 2009), Self Releases, Digital


  • Scheppe, Ron. “Review: A Simple Procedure” Texture, December 2015.
  • Escudero, Guillermo. “Review: A Simple Procedure” Loop, November 2015.
  • Lockett, Alan. “CD Review” Igloo Magazine, March, 2013.
  • Cianciotta, Aurelio. "Yann Novak & Robert Crouch – Fata Morgana" Neural, December 2012
  • Fruitman, Stephen. “Review: Fata Morgana” Cyclic Defrost, October, 2012.
  • Chuter, Jack. “Review: Yann Novak + Robert Crouch – Fata Morgana” ATTN:Magazine, July, 2012.
  • Keenan, Sean. “Yann Novak/Robert Crouch: Fata Morgana” Trebuchet Magazine, July, 2012.
  • Badaracco, Patricio. “CD Review: Fata Morgana” Hawái, July 2012.
  • Jayson. “CD Review: Fata Morgana” Two Eleven, July 2012.
  • Scheppe, Ron. “Review: Fata Morgana” Texture, June 2012.
  • Deupree, Caleb. “... & After the Chill Room” Furthernoise, April 2010.
  • Scheppe, Ron. “Review: Untitled 10 (The Black Album)” Texture, April 2010.


Yann Novak & Robert Crouch
Los Angeles, CA